ESD protection is insufficient

• 3 Replies
ESD protection is insufficient
« on: September 24, 2019, 10:20:09 PM »
I was looking at the analog part circuit and found this vital problem.
The component (GDT_SH90)you are using for ESD protection is way less sufficient.
the analog input of the following circuit is very sensitive to ESD, a spark gap cannot provide enough protection.
because the trigger voltage is around 100V, but in realistic, the overshoot can be several hundreds of volts.
And due to the property of the gas, there is a time lag between the primary discharge and the secondary discharge, it could be tens of nano seconds, with that long time, the following circuit could be already dead.
Highly recommend that you can change the spark gap to a TVS diode. I'm an ESD expert. I can give you suggestions, many components from ST and Nexperia are very good choices.

ESD is the most dangerous transient event that damage the scope, and it is very easy to happen to every  one and every day. Even in a humidity environment, there still could be several hundreds of volts on your body.

Pengyu

Dejan

• View Profile
Re: ESD protection is insufficient
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2019, 12:44:41 PM »
Hi Pengyu and thank you for your comments, but there is no problem with the ESD protection in the analog inputs.

In the analog front end we have implemented two levels of ESD protection. The first level is the gas discharge tube (GDT) which absorbs the main part of the ESD energy and lowers the peak voltage of the overvoltage transient. We have used the GDT component because it provides a very low input capacitance and more importantly, this capacitance is non-variable. On the other hand, the input capacitance of the TVS diodes change with amplitude and frequency and this is not desired when measuring high speed signals. Any capacitance non-linearity at the input will cause a non-linear frequency response. So, using a TVS diode directly at the input is not an option.